Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts
 Brazil 3 2 1 0 5 2 +3 7
 Portugal 3 1 2 0 7 0 +7 5
 Côte d’Ivoire 3 1 1 1 4 3 +1 4
 North Korea 3 0 0 3 1 12 −11 0

Group G of the 2010 FIFA World Cup began on 15 June and ended on 25 June 2010. The group consisted of reigning South American champions Brazil, Korea DPR, Côte d’Ivoire and Portugal. This group, along with Group D, was labeled a group of death.

Brazil and Portugal were also drawn in the same group at the 1966 FIFA World Cup, their previous official World Cup match. In 1966, the Portuguese team defeated Brazil 3–1, thus eliminating the defending champions, to advance to the quarter-finals where they encountered and defeated North Korea (another team in Group G) 5–3, after trailing 0–3.

As winners of the group, Brazil advanced to play against Chile – runners-up in Group H – in the Round of 16, while Portugal – the Group G runners-up – met Spain, who won Group H. Côte d’Ivoire finished third in the group, and Korea DPR finished bottom. The North Koreans had a goal difference of −11, the worst of any team in the 2010 tournament, largely due to the 7–0 defeat they suffered against Portugal; that match was Portugal’s biggest ever World Cup win, and Korea DPR’s heaviest ever defeat. It was also the first time a live football game was broadcast on North Korean television.